Newest Book
 ::  Coming Soon  ::  Back List  ::  Printable Book List  ::  Guide to Linked Characters

The Heirs in Waiting :: The Cinderella Spinsters :: Sisters of Scandal ::  The Wellingfords  ::  Regency Silk and Scandal  ::  Ransleigh Rogues  ::  Hadley's Hellions  :: 
Western Historicals


Three friends and rival spymasters, two scandalous affairs, one murder, and an innocent man hanged on the testimony of his best friend set the stage for the next generation to try to solve the mystery of the murder and redeem lives shattered by disgrace. During the writing phase, the six authors who created the eight books of this unique Regency continuity referred to the series as “The Silken Rope Scandals” since, it turns out, peers condemned to hang are executed with a rope made of silk. No common hemp for milord, please.

Though the “official” series title is REGENCY SILK AND SCANDAL, we authors love fellow “continuista” Louise Allen’s slightly longer description of the project: “The Scandals of the Murdered Baron’s Mystery Gypsy Lovechild’s Forbidden Revenge Quest Involving Virgins and at Least One Earl.”

In addition to being, as far as I know, the first historical continuity intended for the North American market—most continuities series are contemporaries--our Regency series is also unique because, subject to editorial review, we were given complete freedom to create the concept, the characters, the plot—everything.

It was fabulous fun to team with such a talented group to torture, bedevil (and connect) our various heroes and heroines! 

My book, third in the series, is THE SMUGGLER AND THE SOCIETY BRIDE.

After being disgraced and ruined by some unknown enemy, Lady Honoria Carlow flees London—and the family that refused to believe in her innocence—to take refuge with her great aunt on the remote Cornish coast.  Alternating between anger and despair, Honoria tries to figure out what to do with her life…and how to respond to her irritating, immediate attraction to the completely ineligible but undeniably charming local smuggler revered as “The Hawk.”

Having signed on as temporary skipper of a smuggling cutter as a favor to the comrade who saved his life, former army Captain Gabriel Hawksworth wonders what induced this stunningly lovely lady to abandon London during the Season in favor of an extended visit to her spinster aunt. Gabe scents a scandal…and if the lady’s morals are a bit looser than her proper family would like, he’s just the man to offer her some diversion during her stay in Sennlach.  Until he gets to know this unusual lady better--and decides a temporary dalliance won’t be nearly enough!

Now, for the complete list of titles and descriptions.  Drum roll, please!

Book 1       The Lord and the Wayward Lady by Louise Allen


Nell Latham is a milliner who is not all she seems.  Her life is hard - and then a mysterious stranger with death on his mind throws her into the path of the Carlows, a family with enough dangerous secrets of their own, without the added complication of Nell and Marcus Carlow developing a tempestuous attraction for each other.  At gunpoint.

Nell the milliner is obviously ineligible as a bride for Marcus, who is also a viscount  But Nell's true identity is a threat to both her and Marcus's family and is the catalyst for revelations of scandal, murder and treachery that will resonate through all of the books.

For more about Louise and her books, visit her at:

Book 2       Paying the Virgin's Price by Christine Merrill


Ten years ago, during a night of reckless gaming, Nathan Wardale ruined a man and won the right to take the innocence of his daughter, Diana.

It was a debt he never planned to claim. But now, London's luckiest gambler will see that the only thing worth winning is the one thing he can't have: the heart of Diana Price.

For  more about Christine and her books, visit her at:

And for an outrageously funny blog, find her here:

Book 3       The Smuggler and the Society Bride by Julia Justiss


Book 4       Claiming the Forbidden Bride by Gayle Wilson


Major Rhys Morgan, late of His Majesty's Light Dragoons, hopes, despite his wounds, to continue his service for king and country.  The consequences of his heroic rescue of a little girl pitch him instead into the midst of a Romany camp and into the arms of a beautiful and mysterious Gypsy healer.

The last thing Nadya Argentari wants or needs is a romantic involvement with an Englishman.  When someone seems to be targeting her and her family, however, Rhys vows to protect the woman he has fallen in love with--a relationship they both know will never be accepted in the either of the very disparate worlds they inhabit.

For more about Gayle and her books, visit her at:

Book 5       The Viscount and the Virgin by Annie Burrows


The Honourable Imogen Hebden, (the daughter of Louise's Murdered Baron.)  is not pretty, has no fortune, and goes up to London for her first season with the shadow of scandal hanging over her.  Her mother's family try to re-instate her into society, but it is such an uphill struggle she decides she must find work as a governess.  The very last thing she wants to do is fall under the spell of a handsome rake, but Viscount Mildenhall is just sooo irresistible!

Here’s Annie with her very own Mills and Boon hero (courtesy of a promo event at the Manchester Central Library)

For more about Annie and her books, visit her at

Book 6       Unlacing the Innocent Miss by Margaret McPhee


Rosalind Meadowfield is a dowager's companion with a secret to hide. Even when she is accused of theft and fleeing for her life Rosalind dare not reveal the truth of it. With so much at stake how can she find herself falling for the very man sent to apprehend her?

Will Wolversley, or Wolf as he is known, a man with a past, strong, honourable, and embittered, has every reason to dislike his captive. She is the very epitome of all that he has been raised to despise, yet her innocence and courage touch his hardened heart and whisper a dangerous temptation.

Between thief-taker and thief burns a flame of passion that cannot be ignored - not by Rosalind or Wolf...or by the shadowy background figure so determined upon Rosalind's downfall.

For more about Margaret and her books, check the Harlequin website:

Book 7       The Officer and the Proper Lady by Louise Allen


Louise Allen’s second story is set on and around the battlefield of Waterloo.  Major Hal Carlow is a self-confessed rake and is not fit company for the impoverished and proper Miss Julia Tresilian.  But Brussels just before the battle of Waterloo is a social hot-house that throws them together.   

Hal is certain that he does not want a wife.  Julia knows she must make a sensible match, not ruin herself with a rake.  And then the battle changes everything for both of them, and exposes them to the danger and scandal that is haunting the entire Carlow family.   

Book 8       Taken By the Wicked Rake by Christine Merrill


As Chris succinctly describes the final book in the series, “He's wicked. And she's kidnapped. More Gypsies, curses, in-law problems, and the solution to a 15 year old murder mystery.”


- top -


News/Blog  ·  Bookshelf  ·  Contest  ·  Contact  ·  Bio  ·  A Little Extra  ·  In Translation  ·  Home  ·  Site/Copyright/Privacy Policy